Money Mastery: Better Late than Never

Money Mastery: Better Late than Never

For the past year I have known that I need an assistant or a marketing person in my new business. I’ve been caught in the common dilemma of the small business owner: whether to wait till the business is generating the income to pay for such a person or use start-up money to fund the expense. This is a tough call for every entrepreneur in this situation. I knew then that I should take the leap and Just Do It, just as I had in making the decision to start the business and go full out with it. However, I just couldn’t get myself to do it. In the meantime I researched my options and I just got clearer and clearer that I was shooting myself in the foot by not getting the help my business needs. I explored what beliefs and personality elements were keeping me from taking the necessary action. THAT was the most (only?) fruitful part of waiting to take action. I saw a lot about myself, ways that I’ve been that no longer serve me (if they ever did serve me), and, as a good coach, I coached myself to eliminate those beliefs, choose to change and choose to create new habits, new neural pathways for new beliefs and new behaviors that do suit me, that do serve me, and will allow me to become as successful as I intend to be with my new business.

At the end of Feb. at the Bay Area Consultants Network monthly meeting in San Rafael, I met Sandi Silva, the owner of Dynamic Support Solutions which is a team of Virtual Assistants that do just about everything including marketing. Instantly, I knew I’d “found” exactly what/who I’ve been needing. I didn’t hesitate; I acted decisively and swiftly to get her team working on my business. What a relief! I feel an enormous weight lifted from my neck and shoulders- literally. Now, after a month, it’s taking a lot to keep from kicking myself for not doing this a year ago and to keep myself from dwelling on where my business might be now if I had. BIG SIGH!!!! I keep reminding myself that I can’t do anything about that now, that it’s not a productive use of my time and energy to dwell on that today, and at least I am now taking the needed action and reaping the benefit. The Chinese have a saying “The best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago. The second best time is today.”

How often do we not do something because we wish we’d already done it, wish we’d already made the decision, set something in motion at an earlier time. We allow our regret and remorse to keep us from taking action today. If you too have done this, please consider that today is a good day to stop. So often I get a call from a middle-aged prospective client  who has made this decision to STOP having regrets and simply move forward from where they are to turn their work, their life and their finances around. What many people don’t realize is that if they’ve learned from the mistakes they’ve made in their life, in their work, in their finances, they may be in an excellent position for success now. Those lessons may have resulted in wisdom or maturity that will well serve whatever ventures they now have in mind for themselves. It’s seldom too late. Your best life awaits you. Take the first step. Need support? Contact me. It’s my greatest honor to support people to discover and fulfill their purpose and create their best life, their most authentic life, the life they’ve dreamed of living. Money and what you believe about money is often one of the biggest obstacles to this. Let’s eliminate that obstacle and replace it with what will serve you and your purpose.  This is why I created my business, Money Mastery. Ultimately, it’s really not about the money. Master your Inner Game of money; it’s the KEY to living the life YOU are meant to lead. Today is a good day to start. Now take that first step.

3 responses to “Money Mastery: Better Late than Never

  1. Pingback: Death of Poverty | Open_Secrets

  2. Very good material, Kamila!

    When most people talk about “money mastery” their concern is “not enough money.” But it’s not always that way.

    I’m working with a man who runs a successful, very profitable business. He’s grown it for 20 years. He says, “The thrill is gone; I’m ready to let it go. I’d like to go on to some other (so far undefined) creative endeavor.”

    He said this a few years ago, when he first started working with me. But every time a new, lucrative deal comes along, he goes for it.

    He doesn’t need more; he’s got two lifetimes of money. But he can’t let go of striving for more.

    What I see is, he has cast this as “Money” vs. “Creativity and Passion.” So now we’re looking at having “Creativity AND Cash Flow.” Let go of the fear that the new thing–whatever emerges–will not generate good cash flow.

    mvh

    • Hi Mike,

      Thanks for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed the post(s). I am so struck by your account of working with your client who, although he has enough money for the rest of his life in spades, he can’t allow himself to pursue his passion. That is beyond sad. He is driven by some powerful beliefs and he’s missing out on the real riches within himself and sharing that with the world- THAT would really be RICH, THAT would really be living, in my view.

Leave a comment