Live an inspired life, a purposeful life, an uncluttered life- wisdom from Inspiration by Dr. Wayne Dyer

Live an inspired life, a purposeful life, an uncluttered life; wisdom from Inspiration by Dr. Wayne Dyer

I just finished watching Dr. Wayne Dyer’s presentation of his book, Inspiration, about living one’s life inspired and ON purpose.  If ever I have doubts whether there’s grace in the universe, today is not one of those days.  Why?  I attribute it to grace that without a coach, a guru, or a mentor for most of my life, I came to the conclusions and choices that Dr. D (as he’s known) advocates in his book for living an inspired life, a life ON purpose to fulfill one’s purpose.

He says there are a few things that are KEY:

  • Change your awareness of yourself.  Jung said one of the most important things you can do is to become aware of yourself.  I agree.  I have said this in many posts and in many places on my website as my work is built upon this principle.
  • Put your attention on what can be improved or changed rather than on what is wrong.  Maslow said this, I say this, and The Law of Attraction is based on this.
  • Allow time for quiet and contemplation.  There needs to be space for inspiration to enter and dwell.  A quiet mind is closest to god. Inspiration and guidance are often delivered in a soft voice; if your life is too loud or chaotic, you may not hear the soft voice.  (See part 2 of this post)
  • Motivation has to do with taking an idea all the way to completion.  Inspiration has to do with an idea taking YOU where you’re meant to go. You surrender to this; you trust it.  You allow yourself to be infused with this.  Your spirit is aligned with your desire and these are aligned with divine will and your individual will.  We are then moved into resourcefulness and creativity- we find the way and the means to get done what needs to be done along the way.  Obstacles are challenges not an excuse to give up or stop.

Through grace, guidance, etc., I have done these things and my life could not be more ON purpose or inspired.  I certainly did not expect or plan to wind up here.  I planned to be an architect, but being one didn’t mesh well with motherhood so I surrendered to inspiration and divine will and here I am.  Woo Hoo!!!  At times it’s felt like Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride (one of the scariest rides of my first trip to Disneyland as a small child), but when the ride concludes, you emerge in the sunlight and are no worse for the adventure, maybe even better.

Why live an inspired life? Patanjali said the reward for an inspired life is that your thoughts breaks free of their bounds, your mind transcends limitations, you enter the field of all possibilities, your consciousness expands in every direction, you find yourself in a great new world of god realization, and you discover yourself to be a greater person than you’d known.  While all of this is true, it’s not instantaneous; these things occur because of what you DO when you’re inspired and who you BECOME when you live an inspired life.

Dr. Dyer defines true nobility as being better than you used to be.

Stay tuned for the next post: Part 2: The 6 Steps to an inspired life and the 12 Steps to Simplify your life so you can actually have an inspired life.

Leave a comment