Self-Growth.com and The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

Self-Growth.com and The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

David Riklan of Self-Growth.com has posted a useful 5 minute video to explain the 7 Habits quickly and provide a visual mnemonic to help remember them and their order. Here’s the link and his synopsis:
http://www.selfgrowth.com/blog/seven_habits_highly_effective_people.html

Stephen Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People has sold over 10 million copies worldwide!

Number 1 – Be Proactive.
That’s almost self explanatory. It means you are taking the initiative. You are not living reactively, but are taking a proactive stance in your life.

Number 2 – Begin with the End in Mind.
The End is really your goal or your goals. Effectiveness is not just a matter of reaching a goal but rather of achieving the right goal. Imagine yourself sitting in the back of the room at your funeral, and what people could honestly say about you based on the way you are now. Do you like what you hear? Is that how you want to be remembered? If not, change it.

Number 3 – Do First Things First.
This means to focus on your most important priorities, your top priorities. This doesn’t always mean urgent. The phone is ringing, and picking it up might seem urgent, but the caller is not always important. It could be a telemarketer. Focus on your top priorities.

Number 4 – Think Win Win

In personal, business or other relationships, exercise “interpersonal leadership” to make both parties winners. Two wins make everyone better off; two losses hurts everyone. A win/lose relationship creates a victor and leaves someone injured. Think Win Win.

Number 5 – “Seek First to Understand, Then to Be Understood”
Communication is a two-way street. To develop win/win relationships, find out what the
other parties want, and what winning means to them. Try to put yourself in the other person’s shoes.

Number 6 – “Synergize”
Cooperation multiplies the power of one. In fact, “creative cooperation” may yield a
force greater than the sum of the parts. The buzzword to describe
this kind of relationship is “synergy,” which means bringing together a whole that
is greater than the sum of the parts.

Number 7 – “Sharpen the Saw”
There’s an old story about a man sawing a log. The work is going slowly and the man is exhausted. The more he saws, the less he cuts. A passerby watches for a while and suggests that the man take a break to sharpen the saw. But the man says he can’t stop to sharpen the saw because he is too busy sawing! A dull saw makes the work tiresome, tedious and unproductive. Highly effective people take the time they need to sharpen their tools, which are, in fact, their bodies, souls, mind and hearts. It’s time for “self-renewal.”

As you may have gathered, if you’re one of my regular readers, I am a huge fan of Covey and the 7 habits; I practice them in my personal life, in my business, and write about them regularly in my blog.
I see the fruits of this practice in my relationships, in the way I approach my daily work and business in general. Slowly, I am eliminating and replacing my most challenging and problematic habits.

Habit 2 helps me think backwards to achieve the Mission of my business and also to create the life I want.
Habit 3 is probably my biggest challenge on a daily basis even though I’m convinced of the wisdom of it. I do feel so much more satisfied when I do the most important thing FIRST in my day both in the personal part of my day and in my work day.
Sharpening the Saw is second nature to me; I have always done this and couldn’t stop when I tried.
In my personal relationships, Win-Win has had a big impact. Preceeding this with Habit 5 works helps because when I understand someone and their perspective, it’s natural for me to want to give them what they need/want and often this movement causes it to become mutual and we get to a Win-Win.

I’d really like to hear from you if you use Self-Growth.com
How are you using it? What are you getting from the experience

3 responses to “Self-Growth.com and The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

  1. Pingback: Ask the leadership coach » Self-Growth.com and The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People …

  2. Nice overview of the 7 Habits! If more people were to read this book the world would be a brighter place. Please take a look at my own review — from a Navy perspective: Navy Reads: http://navyreads.blogspot.com/

  3. The subconscious mind is one of the major keys to self improvement and self growth. By changing the contents of the subconscious mind the habits, behavior and attitudes are changed. All this help in awakening the wisdom and power, achieve success and prosperity, and walk on the paths of self improvement, spiritual growth and inner peace. This is brought about through visualization, affirmations, meditation and by analyzing behavior and habits.
    Related Articles
    http://atmabodh.net/self_growth_and_improvement

    Creative Visualization

    a href=”http://atmabodh.net/mind_power”>Mind Power

    Aashu
    http://atmabodh.net

Leave a Reply

