Habits, Character and Success

Habits, Character and Success

I’ve been reading Stephen Covey’s Daily Reflections for Highly Effective People for a few years now. Each Jan. 1, I start over. The introduction is jam-packed and again reminds me of the overall purpose of the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. If you’ve not read it yet, I recommend it quite highly. I can’t begin to say how much I’ve gained and continue to learn from these 2 books. Each year as I read the Daily Reflections (actually snippets from the 7 Habits book), I’m able to see and feel how much I’ve integrated in the past year and also what is STILL challenging for me. Reading it continuously keeps me on track, keeps my intentions fresh and in the forefront of my mind.

One of my biggest challenges is habits. Stephen calls adhering to habits a “private victory” that makes public victory (success) possible. I concur. He also talks about how challenging it is to adhere to habits in those moments when we don’t feel like it- To execute the habits around doing the things that allow us to feel our best, perform at our peak, and bring the quality of energy we want to our day and to our lives. Although this is getting easier for me as I mature, it continues to be a real challenge. Here’s one of the Daily snippets:
Our character, basically, is a composite of our habits. Because they are consistent, often unconscious patterns, they constantly, daily, express our character and produce our effectiveness…or ineffectiveness.” So well put! I see that my understanding and acceptance of this truth has deepened tremendously in the past year. amen! progress! Previously, there was a disconnect between what I thought my character was and what I actually did. Now, I understand that they cannot be separated, that my habits are what define and build my character, and make the vision that I hold a real strong probability. My habits are the daily proof of my character; they are the ways that my character manifests through my behavior. Grokking this on a deeper level has made it somewhat easier to uphold habits. I look forward to it becoming even easier over time. Baby steps and big shifts.

Leave a Reply

