THE SECRET TO INCREASING YOUR INCOME MORE EASILY, Part 3

THE SECRET TO INCREASING YOUR INCOME MORE EASILY, Part 3
Let’s say you’re fortunate enough to have a sense of your purpose.  Now what?  It’s not all downhill cruising from here.  You’re likely to meet up with resistance internally and externally. People resist consciously and unconsciously. The reason we resist is fear, for a few reasons: 1. We know that it is a road we must travel alone. Even if others are going with us, we now answer to a higher call and must follow that inner guidance. 2. Many people will not and cannot understand what we experience because they have not experienced it themselves so we must seek out people who understand the process so we can relate our experience. 3. We have an ego.

Your ego, the part of you that you think of as “I”, makes choices and takes action in the world. It is responsible for your safety. One of the primary ways that the ego ensures safety is to maintain the status quo.  The ego is not keen on any growth or change that diminishes the ego’s hold on you or reality as it knows it.  Your ego isn’t going to let you find or pursue your purpose if it thinks that it is or will be unsafe from it’s perspective.

You’re probably aware of your desire to know your purpose, or you wouldn’t be reading this.  Are you also aware of the part of you that DOESN’T want to know your purpose, or is AFRAID of knowing your purpose? If not, sense into it. Watch what arises in you as you entertain notions such as: “what if my purpose tells me to change jobs?”, “What if my purpose doesn’t involve making a good living?”.

Our fears come from our attachments and resistance to step into the truth and accept it’s reality.

Stay tuned for Part 4

2 responses to “THE SECRET TO INCREASING YOUR INCOME MORE EASILY, Part 3

  1. What if my purpose is deeper than purpose or goal orientation?

  2. John, Is that a Zen koan: how can a purpose be deeper than a purpose?
    I suspect that you mean: what if your purpose is deeper than Doing. Is that right? If so, I’d say that there are different layers of purpose just as there are different layers of experience, different layers of Being, etc….
    When I was quite young- maybe 10 or 12, I remember pondering my purpose and thinking that it had to do with freedom. I didn’t have the vocabulary then to articulate it as well as I can now, but I knew it had to do with finding the way to be the fullest manifestation of myself…….self-actualized, free to Be.
    Now, that is unchanged; I still perceive that to be my purpose, and I look for work and other opportunities in life to manifest myself and utilize my gifts as fully as possible. So, while purpose need not have a Doing layer, if it does, that layer will have to do with doing the things that cause us to feel most alive, most useful, most excited, most giving, most open to magnificence.

Leave a Reply

